Posted by: tjmorrey | January 11, 2012

Stop throwing clubs you look dumb!

Now I realize there is a stigma in golf that you need to show no emotion, always have a stone face that makes you look focused and hardcore. I’d say that’s true if you are Tiger Woods playing for the U.S Open Championship. That doesn’t have to be you. Every golfer has a different style of showing emotion.

If you want to get to know somebody in one day, take them golfing. You will learn almost all you need to know about that person after a round of golf. Believe it or not, I’ve had many great and terrible experiences with people that I just met in four and a half hours playing golf. I’ve played with people who are funny, outgoing, enjoyable playing partners to be around. These people also allow you to become more relaxed and loosen up ultimately playing a free flowing, good game of golf. On the flip side, there are those angry, hot-tempered, cursing, club-throwing people who make you think they are going to rip your head off if you ask them what they scored on the last hole.

We all have our pet peeves with everyday life, our professions, and hobbies. Mine are the golfers who yell out curse words, slam their clubs against the ground and most of all throw their clubs after a bad shot. Now I’m not going to sit here and tell you that I’ve never done these things. I am absolutely guilty of doing these things once or twice in my life, especially when I was younger. As I became more mature and more professional with my game I realized quickly that when I do these things, I really look dumb. It’s true! When people do these things it’s kind of comical because of how much you look like an idiot. It’s not cool; it doesn’t show how passionate you are. It’s just plain embarrassing.

Life is way too short to get mad over a bad shot playing a game of golf. Nowadays golf clubs are becoming more expensive and valuable that when you slam your club in the ground possibly bending or breaking it your out a couple hundred dollars. Or say you shot-put the club across the course like your in the Olympics, then can’t find it, your down one less club for the rest of the day and your paying for it. You certainly don’t want to look like this guy, playing with your boss or a respective client. (WARNING: Viewer discretion is advised for language!! Check your volume as well.)

Stay tuned to my next blog for tips on how to get over a bad shot, bad hole, or bad round of golf.

Responses

  1. TJ,
    Great article. I hate it when people lose their cool during a round of golf. It rubs off on everyone else in the group and is straight out embarrassing. Also, hilarious video! Keep up the good work.. Cheers

    • Josh,
      Thank you for the comment and the support. I’m glad I found that video because I figured you would enjoy that.

  2. I can’t believe you play with me still, because I’m “that guy” that does all of those things haha!! Good blog kid!

    • Nick,
      Thanks for the comment. Yes, still enjoy playing with you because you are that guy, and I love laughing at you whenever you become so frustrated. Ha ha.

  3. Great advice TJ! I used to show so much emotion out there on the links. I’ve realized that it affects my game so much and how others perceive me. Hopefully, I can keep my cool during my next round…even if I do miss a gimme putt.

    • Tim,
      Thanks for the comment. Yes those gimme putts are the worst when you miss them, very easy to get frustrated over a three footer for birdie, but I have noticed a huge improvement with the rest of my round if I can just get over that one small mistake. It’s tough but helps in the long run.

  4. Hi TJ, great post! I love the title it’s catchy and true. I love seeing people throw a fit at the golf course, it’s hilarious, just not when it goes past 5 seconds. Love the video!

    • Christian,
      Thanks for the comment. I really appreciate it. It is hilarious at first and yes I agree with you after a while it gets pretty old to see someone do that all the time.

  5. T-
    Love it…the video made me laugh, I feel like I would probably do the same thing…glad your getting out there and blogging, it’s a good way to get your thoughts out. Keep it up:)
    -Alicia

    • Hey Lish,
      Thanks for the comment. I really appreciate it. Glad you got to read it and very happy you enjoyed it. I know your very busy enjoying that Maui heat.

  6. I told you to never show anyone that video! Haha

    • B,
      Thanks for the comment. Yes I know I let the cat out of the bag when now everybody knows that is you on the video. HA! No you don’t do that but it was funny to watch though. Kind of makes you think: “Do I do that?”

  7. TJ, have you seen my 6 iron anywhere?

    • Hey Will,

      Thank you so much for the comment. Yes I have seen your 6 iron you threw it in the water on #15 at Lakeridge HA! Just kidding. Hope your doing well Will and hope your still swinging those sticks well.

  8. […] positive or funny. Share it with others randomly if you want. You can think of things like: Remember that time TJ posted on his blog that youtube video of that guy losing it on the golf course. That will help you get over things […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

