Posted by: tjmorrey | January 26, 2012

Watch What Greatness Looks Like!

First and foremost I personally apologize for not blogging these last few days. I’ve recently been working on getting some faster, better internet.

Anyways, since my internet has been slow and sometimes down, I’ve noticed myself spending my nights watching a lot of sports. Anywhere from Tennis to the PGA Tour Golf Tournaments, NFL playoff football, Men’s College Basketball, and some NBA games. Wow, so much is going on in terms of sports these last few weeks. Honestly, there has been some amazing games and amazing matches and I can’t believe it’s only January.

From watching all these sporting events I noticed myself really paying a lot of attention to the “Superstars,” of their sport. You know those really well known players all across the world. The biggest thing that I took from watching the superstar players was how good they are in huge, pressure, win or lose type, big time situations. They thrive when the spotlight is on them, they want the ball, they want the last shot, they want the last putt or the last serve. It’s their time to shine, and from what I’ve been seeing these guys are shining bright.

The other night it was about 1 ociock in the morning and I just couldn’t go to sleep so I turned on the Tennis Australian Open and it was the semi-finals between Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal. The only word I could describe to myself when I was watching that match was: REMARKABLE! It was unbelievable to watch how good these two guys are at their craft. It is unfortunate sometimes that there has to be a winner and a loser because I was stunned and just truly amazed of how much these two were going at it in a tennis match. I couldn’t sleep, I got fired up at 1:30 in the morning watching tennis.

So the next morning I noticed I recorded the Golf Channel’s coverage of a tournament going on in Europe featuring Tiger Woods called the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship. The coverage was focused on one main group, which featured the three best golfers in the entire world. Tiger Woods, Luke Donald, and Rory McIlroy. This is like watching Larry Bird, Michael Jordan and and Magic Johnson playing against each other. I watched some fantastic golf and some even better drama between this featured group. I really started noticing something else however other than there golf game, and that was just their confidence as they walked down the fairway, their swagger, their aura about them they knew they were great golfers and they knew everybody else was watching them. I thought to myself, “I want to walk in their shoes, I want people to know me and know that I’m amazing at what I do.”

My point to this blog that I want to share with everyone who is reading this is simply: These players aren’t playing because of dumb luck or they had a good year so now everyone knows them. These players are the best day in and day out and people know they will perform great every single game, match or tournament until they retire. The great ones work harder and longer with more sweat, more reps, more drive than the rest. Simple as that. So if you want to be in the spotlight, if you want to be the best at you do? First take a good look at the best, follow the top 10 players of any sport and study them. Then if you have what it takes, the spotlight will be on you someday. It got me motivated and I’m going to try my absolute best to become one of the greats.

Leave a Reply

Categories

